A Piña Colada In a Pint Glass

When I was in Israel I stopped by the duty free on my way back, and while I should have picked up a nice bottle of arak, a liqueur similar to annissette which is big in the Middle East, I decided to go for rum instead. I saw an interesting bottle for very cheap, so I went with it without high expectations. It was labeled as a “fusion” rum. Now, I have no idea what that means, but I’m assumining it’s similar to a rum infusion, possibly with minor juice additions. Considering that the proof was pretty high (70 proof), they couldn’t have added too much. Regardless, I present for your pleasure:

A Glass of Kuya and Its Bottle

A Glass of Kuya and Its Bottle

Kahlua Co.: Kuya Fusion Rum

Tasting Conditions: I tasted the Estate Light after a long day at work. I used an official Ministry of Rum rum tasting glass which is a London dock glass of approximately six to eight ounces capacity. The glass is similar to an old white wine glass. The bottle was purchased a duty free a while back, but this was the first sip.

Eye: The rum is quite pale in the glass, a wheat blonde, with very fast forming thick legs. The bottle is kind of a funky tiki design with a Polynesian drummer and text in a font clearly alluding to its origins from the makers of Kahlua, a fact proudly proclaimed on the label. At 70 proof, this is a bit lower octane than your average rum.

Nose: The nose is very smooth, and extremely fruity. I am having difficulty identifying which fruits, but I am definitely getting berry notes, banana quite strongly and possibly apple. There is also a bit of spice or nuttiness I cannot identify, and possibly almond.

Mouth: The rum is very light and surprisingly smooth, as well as quite sweet. It has a lot of what I would call “tiki” notes with exotic fruit, banana, and almond dominating. To be honest, it tastes in some ways like a very warm smoothie, but much more delicate. I detect none of the citrus proclaimed on the bottle. Next I added some water, though since this is low octane, that is really quite unnecessary. The water does help it open up, and I detected hints of coffee and spices. However, the whole package tastes rather medicinal. I also did get a bit of pineapple. I added ice, and while waiting for the ice to cool the rum, I realized exactly what this tasted like: A pina colada dumped into a dish of bananas foster. The ice didn’t do much, except dilute the spirit.

Conclusion: This is not my kind of rum. In fact, if there were possibly a type of rum that were mine, and there are many, this would be on the opposite end of the spectrum. As fruit liqueurs go, this is a complex one, I will give it that. But complexity and tastiness are not identical. I happen not to like coconut particularly, and I abhor artificial banana, both of which are present in this drink. I will leave this for my friends to drink in their blender drinks where, with plenty of mixer and lots of ice and sugar, this would be completely unnoticeable.

Pick what you tipple carefully,
The Scribe

Leave a Reply

