I’d Load Her With Guyana Rum

Next up on our round the world in a bottle of really tasty rum is the rum bottle that is currently my most prized bottle. This rum is considered one of the better Demerara rums. What is a Demerara rum, you might ask. I would respond that rum started, as best we can tell, in Barbados, and is still fairly similar to modern Bajan rum. It then spread around the Spanish Main. From there each nation developed its distinctive style. The British style is typified by Jamaican rum, the French by the rhum agricole of Martinique, the Spanish by Cuban rum. But then you get oddballs, and the Demerara Valley in Guyana is one of those. The sugar produced there is special and while it is similar to other bold, big bodied British-style rums, the Demerara sugar from which it is made as well as a longer aging gives it a wonderful rich fullness. And with that, I give you:

Demerara Distillers Ltd.: El Dorado 15 Year Old Special Reserve Finest Demerara Rum

Two glasses, and both for me!
Two glasses, and both for me!

Tasting Conditions: In addition to reviewing this fine dram, I am also reviewing Spirit Sipper’s The Flare rum glass. I drank this fine aged rum after my last day at work for the summer, after an excellent dinner of Southwestern risotto. I compared a Spirit Sipper’s rum tasting glass and a Ministry of Rum London dock style tasting glass. I tasted straight from the bottle, which according to notes on the bottle was bottled just after noon on September 21st, 2006.

Eye: This rum presents beautifully in a box, though it is cardboard not wood, which would be even nicer. The bottle is squat with a long bubble neck. It is a very traditional bottle style, and I can easily see a pirate swigging directly from it. The label is elegant with its trilingual description of the contents and it’s drawing of a sailing ship. The rum it self is a gorgeous honey amber with legs that formed quickly and needle-thing in The Flare, and much slower and thicker in the dock glass.

Nose: In the Flare, this was very smooth nosing with hints of honey, lime, and oak. The dock glass produced a noticeably harsher aroma with a more caramelized nose, and what had been citrus tended more towards banana, and I completely missed the oak, though I think it showed up as the burn odor.

Mouth: In the mouth this was quite nice with citrus notes on the front and transitioned to toffee and then on the finish blossomed into honey. The dock glass was slightly sweeter on the front but on the finish continued in the same lines as the Flare. I also got some good vanilla notes. The rum was smoother than the aroma of the dock glass would have suggested, but a bit rougher than the utter smoothness of the Flare. Adding water seriously upped the sweetness of the front in what I believe are the characteristic demerara notes. The taste in the dock glass was identical. I added ice to the dock glass after pouring the majority over to the Flare to finish sipping after the review. After waiting a minute for the rum to cool, I tasted it. The ice revealed more spice notes that had previously been hiding and a lot spicy cinnamon on the finish. In fact, I would say the most flavour emerged when a bit of ice pushed the sweetness back a bit.

Conclusion: I was very pleased with this rum. While this will never be an everyday for me, this may be my staple for fine rum. I am definitely a fan of this. If only the price would come down by ten bucks this would be something like a daily sipper.

So here’s to you, my bullies,
The Scribe

Leave a Reply

