A Broader Mind

It has been a tradition here at the Dram to post reviews of spirits on the third Wednesday of the month. Today I break with that tradition (well, technically, I broke with it in both November and December as I posted nothing, but that’s different)…sort of. Today’s review is of something that is not a spirit. It isn’t even very alcoholic. Today, I drink vinegar, as you will have seen in Monday’s MxMo post. So, without further ado, I give you:

Condimento Aceto Balsamico di Modena (Make unknown.)

Tasting Conditions: I tasted this Balsamic vinegar in a London dock glass, freshly opened, after a hard day at school. The vinegar was kept at a cold room temperature.

Eye: The vinegar is dark brown in the glass. It is poured from a bottle with a bulbous bottom covered in wickerwork, with a slender tall neck, and a spout.

Nose: It smells like, well, to be perfectly honest, it smell like Balsamic vinegar. Go into your pantry. Grab that bottle of balsamic vinegar. Take a whif. Yup. That’s what it smells like.

Mouth: It’s suprisingly not bad. The first thing that hits me is lemon juice, followed by a nice, sweet grape. It is surpringly pleasant, though, to be honest, perhaps a bit acidic, even for me, and I love to drink lemon juice. It has some pleasant complexity to it, which I can really only describe as mellowness. It is clear to me that there is a bunch of subtlety back there, but the sourness is overwhelming enough that I can’t really put my finger on it.

Conclusion: When I poured myself the glass, I started with a few drops, two sips really, and was prepared to pour it out. After tasting it, I topped up my glass with a full ounce. I would really love to get my hands on a better, tradizionale grade vinegar and try it. Note that the real stuff ain’t cheap, and can go for as much as a bottle of good aged spirits, but I think it will be worth it to you.

Here’s to an open mind,
The Scribe

Leave a Reply

